Mayor & City Council

Search Our Website


Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. 
Most Recent Agenda | View All 

Minutes are also available following approval. 
Most Recent Minutes | View All 

Full agenda packets and historical documents can be found on our Laserfiche document imaging server. 


Donna Schmitt, Mayor  Schmitt200X296
John Murzyn, Jr., Councilmember
 Murzyn Jr200x294
Robert "Bobby" Williams, Councilmember  Williams200X300
Connie Buesgens, Councilmember  Connie Buesgens for website

Government Overview

The City of Columbia Heights is governed by a five-member council, consisting of a mayor and four councilmembers who are elected at large on a nonpartisan basis. The mayor serves a two-year term, with councilmembers serving staggered, four-year terms. Elections are held in November of even-number years. 

The City of Columbia Heights is a charter city and as such has a City Charter that determines the procedures of city government in accordance with state statutes and the Minnesota State Constitution. Under this charter, the city has adopted the council-manager form of government. The City Council appoints the City Manager, who is the chief administrative officer for the city.